Three Minute Thesis (3MT™)


The Three Minute Thesis (3MT™) is a research communication competition developed by The University of Queensland, Australia. The exercise develops academic, presentation, and research communication skills and supports the development of students' capacities to effectively explain their research in language appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience.

Doctoral students have three minutes to present a compelling oration on their dissertation topic and its significance. 3MT™ encourages students to consolidate their ideas and crystalize their research discoveries.


Congratulate the 2023 3MT Winners!

1st Place: Hyosoon Yim

Sport Management
Promoting Sport Participation among Older Adults: Application of the Socioemotional Selectivity Theory

View Video


2nd Place: Tania Sultana

Biomedical Sciences
ZIKV NS3 Drives Assembly of a Viroplasm-Like Structure (VLS)

View Video

3rd Place: Meng Tian

The Stereotypes of Female eSports Players

View Video

People's Choice: John Akintola

Chemistry and Biochemistry
Functional Polyelectrolyte Complexes

View Video

2023 3MT Competition Finalists!

Sima Sabbagh

Unmasking the Architects of the Brain: Marvelous FMRP

View Video

Cui Jing

Art Education
Art May Facilitate Community Building to Alleviate Chinese International Students' Alienation

View Video

Andre Juliao

Condensed Matter Experimental Physics
Nb3Sn for Axion Detection

View Video

Hemant Goswami

Molecular Biophysics
Development of an Ultrasensitive and Rapid Virus Detection Method Based on CRISPR-Cas Enzyme

View Video


Toshiaki Kanai

Quantum Computer on Solid Neon 

View Video

Qiushan Liu

Developmental Psychology
Investigating Strategy Flexibility in Algebra

View Video

Click here to read the FSU News Article

Click here to see the 2023 3MT Competition Gallery


Your graduate research. 3 minutes. 1 slide.


Fall 2023 3MT™

Doctoral student in Sport Management, Hyosoon Yim took first place at this year's 3MT competition and won $1,000.
Read more.

Fall 2022 3MT™

Doctoral student in Science Education, Dionne Wilson took first place at this year's 3MT competition and won $1,000.
Read more.

Fall 2021 3MT™

Doctoral student in Art Education, Chris Omni took first place at this year's 3MT competition and won $1,000. 
Read more.

Fall 2020 3MT™

Mark Duslak (Educational Leadership & Policy Studies) and Matthew Martenson (Nutrition, Food, and Exercise Sciences) finished first this year.
Read more.

Fall 2019 3MT™

Judges selected Alyssa Henderson (Physics)and Sara Jones (Biomedical Sciences) as this year’s first-place winners.
Read more.

Fall 2018 3MT™

Doctoral student in biological science, Eve Humphrey took first place at this year's 3MT competition and won $1,000.
Read more.

Fall 2017 3MT™

For the first time, a student from the College of Education, Shannon Gooden (Teacher Education), won the $1,000 prize.
Read more.

Fall 2016 3MT™

Madhuparna Roy(Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering)won first place in this year's competition.
Read more.

Fall 2015 3MT™

Aniket Ingrole (Industrial and Manufacturing Engineering) won first place in the 3MT™ competition.
Read more.

Fall 2014 3MT™

Kimberly Smith (Neuroscience) won first place in this year's 3MT™ competition.
Read more.

View the past 3MT competition galleries